The Faculty of Humanities is one of the oldest faculties at KTMU. Starting from 1998, the faculty was called the Faculty of Humanities and Sciences, and included two departments, the Departments of Turkology and History. In 2001, Master's and Doctorate degrees in Turkology and History were opened. The first graduates completed their studies in 2002 under the guidance of the first dean, Professor Tuncer Baykar. In 2008, the faculty was split into the Faculty of Humanities and the Faculty of Sciences. Some of the leading specialists from Turkey, such as Ahmet Bican Ercilasun, Leyla Karahan, and Tuncer Baykar, have taught at the Faculty since its earliest days. 

In the 2016-2017 academic year, the Faculty of Humanities consists of 8 departments and 11 programs. Many departments offer graduate degrees, and all offer Bachelor's degrees. As of the 2016-2017 academic year, 8800 students from eight countries have recieved a Bachelor's degree from the Faculty of Humanities. 

The Faculty of Humanities offers an well-rounded and holistic education that prepares the next generation of professionals for the Turkic world. From teaching to research, politics to business, our graduates are ready to create a new path for the future through an understanding of history, culture, philosophy, and psychology.